Scarlet Aura- Stormbreaker

Scarlet Aura- Stormbreaker
Silver City Records
Release Date: 27/03/2020
Running Time: 54:06
Review by Tsarina Wilson

Well I hope you are all ready for the return of Scarlet Aura because they are back with a bang and a loud one at that. Their new album “Stormbreaker” is like a very heavily shaken can of beer which erupts as soon as the opening track starts and doesn’t stop until the last note of the final song. First track ‘The World Is Not Enough’ is an instrumental but from the first vocal track ‘Metal Hell’, with Aura’s husky, but such powerful, voice you are completely drawn in and from then on, its pure metal all the way!

For those of you who may not be familiar with Scarlet Aura (where have you been living) you are in for a treat. Fronted by Aura Danciulescu, who has the voice of a metal angel, she is joined by Mihai Danciulescu on lead guitar and vocals, Rene Nistor on bass, guitar and vocals and last, but not least, Doru Gheorghita on drums. They are from Bucharest, Romania and pack a potent punch.

“Stormbreaker” continues the trilogy of “The Book of Scarlet”, which consists of three albums and accompanying fantasy books. “Hot n Heavy”, which I was also lucky enough to review, was the first album in the trilogy and was released in 2019 alongside first book “The Book of Scarlet-Ignition”. The books are written by Aura and combine song lyrics and the story of “Scarlet”, so you get an insight into their Metal/Rock world, it uncovers their storyline and for any fan it’s an absolute must.

It features the previously released single ‘High In The Sky’, which was debuted on their summer tour in 2019. It may start like some metal ballad but don’t be fooled by that and Aura’s vocal range is mind blowing. One thing I have found with all of their music is, no matter how intense it is you can hear every word that is sung! With this particular track I can imagine lighters/torches in the air and people singing it at the top of their voices.

One of my favourites is ‘Daddy’s Lil Monster’ this track has it all including great guitar riffs and drumming. It contains the line “I’m on your skin to skin like a spell” and this track will get under your skin and stay there; you won’t get it out of your head and will be singing it for hours. However, I think once you listen to ‘Scarlets United’ you will be hooked totally and this album will be on permanent repeat! This track is like a fan call and if we are all invited to be part of Scarlet United, well I’m signing up to be a part of it.

No matter which is your favourite track you cannot get away from the intense musicianship which sometimes overwhelms you. Not many Rock/Metal bands can combine catchy yet compulsive listening like Scarlet Aura do. Tracks dig into subjects that many bands don’t seem to cover from personal feelings of love to having the courage to do things and they aren’t scared to cover the journey of things that not only trouble others but themselves as well. Most of you would have heard of the quote “Music soothes the soul”, well Scarlet Aura are a band that do that for me. You can sit back and chill out to a track while the next has the hair on your arms standing on end and the next has you with your fist in the air.

Is it possible to sum up “Stormbreaker” in a few words? Powerful, mind blowing and unique come to mind but that doesn’t begin to cover it. Scarlet Aura go from strength to strength with each release and Aura makes a good point in one of her comments “Music heals the spirit, metal heals the heart”; yes, you are so right.

Scarlet Aura will be on tour in Spring 2020 which will see them playing through Germany, Switzerland, France, United Kingdom, Czech Republic, The Netherlands and Austria together with Visions of Atlantis and Edenbridge along with solo album release shows in Romania and Bulgaria. Beyond that they have already announced tour dates for the Autumn where the band will join Primal Fear and Freedom Calls, as guests, for 24 concerts in 10 countries during September-October 2020.


01. The World Is Not Enough
02. Metal Hell
03. Battle Cry
04. Stormbreaker
05. Loose Cannon
06. I Am The One
07. High In The Sky
08. The Heretic
09. Daddy’s lil Monster
10. A Blast From The Past
11. Scarlet United


Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Tsarina Wilson and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.