Trespass – Wolf At The Door

Trespass – Wolf At The Door
From The Vaults
Release Date: 26/05/2023
Running Time: 57:10
Review by: Chris Galea

Trespass were one of the English bands championed by Metallica drummer Lars Ulrich in his retrospective compilation “New Wave of British Heavy Metal ’79 Revisited”, released in 1990. That compilation led to the release of Trespass’ debut album, “Head”. Exactly 30 years have passed since the release of “Head” but one might be forgiven for thinking it was much less than that because new album “Wolf At The Door” contains all the vibes that hark back to the band’s early days.

The album starts off quite well with the first few tracks peppered with tasty guitar solos, catchy lyrics and the occasional melancholic passage. With “Ghost Pilot” the album comes alive with headbanging riffs and wicked guitar harmonies. The title-track, which closes the album, is another riff-laden song which I liked.

All in all, “Wolf At The Door” is a creative album with a distinctive 1970s Rock flavour to it and yet it doesn’t feel dated at all. Mark Sutcliffe (lead vocals and guitar) is all that remains from the original line-up but the 4 band members in this album seem to work very well together, intuitively picking up from each other. It is the album fans will have been hoping for.

‘Blackthorn’ Official Video 

01. Blackthorn
02. Daggers Drawn
03. Force Of Nature
04. Other Worlds
05. Ghost Pilot
06. Back To The Woods
07. Crooked Cross
08. Unsinkable
09. Stranger In Paradise
10. Live Like A King
11. Wolf At The Door

Mark Sutcliffe – guitar/vocals
Joe Fawcett – guitar
Jason Roberts – drums
Wil Wilmot – bass


Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Chris Galea and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.