Exhorder – Defectum Omnium

Exhorder – Defectum Omnium
Nuclear Blast
Release Date: 08/03/24
Running Time: 54:23
Review by Chris Galea

Before delving into “Defectum Omnium” I observed that the album’s artwork has a very different style from the band’s classic 1990 debut album “Slaughter In The Vatican”. Does this reflect a difference in the band’s music when comparing those two eras? Well, yes…and no. As I shall explain….

“Defectum Omnium” consolidates Exhorder’s Punk and Thrash roots but also widens the band’s sound. So pigeon-holing the music style might prove more awkward than expected but for sure there’s a lot of anger and spite lashing out of these tracks. Illustrating this are ‘Defectum Omnium / Stolen Hope’, with its Sabbathian riffs, and the excellent Motörhead-inspired ‘Year Of The Goat’. There’s also ‘Taken By Flames’ which sounds like Pantera on speed.

Exhorder recently parted ways with guitarists Vinnie LaBella and Marzi Montazeri and recruited ex-Cannibal Corpse Pat O’Brien. Rather than recruiting a second guitarist, however, founding member/vocalist Kyle Thomas plays guitar too. Monstrous riffs abound, there’s no doubt about that, even though there’s something about the guitar tones that I struggled to accept. And while I’m on the subject of sonorities, the album sounds quite polished but I felt that the vocals effects were a bit overdone.

“Defectum Omnium” excels when the band puts the pedal to the Metal and for that just listen to the fury of ‘Desensitized’ or ‘The Tale Of Unsound Minds’ when it starts with a slower tempo but then explodes into furious take-no-prisoners Metal.

This album is not a masterpiece….it contains the good, the bad and the ugly in equal measures…but it’s way better than most Thrash/Hardcore albums I’ve heard in a long while.

‘Forever and Beyond Despair” official video:

01. Wrath of Prophecies
02. Under the Gaslight
03. Forever and Beyond Despair
04. The Tale Of Unsound Minds
05. Divide and Conquer
06. Year of the Goat
07. Taken by Flames
08. Defectum Omnium / Stolen Hope
09. Three Stages of Truth / Lacing the Well
10. Sedition
11. Desensitized
12. Your Six

Sasha Horn – drums
Jason Viebrooks – bass, guitars 
Pat O’Brien – guitars 
Kyle Thomas – vocals, guitars 


Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Chris Galea and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of said party. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.