Alex Nunziati – Black Space Void

Black Space Void Album Cover Art

Alex Nunziati – Black Space Void
Moribund Records
Release Date: 24/03/23
Running Time: 36:53
Review by Paul Hutchings

According to the blurb that accompanied this release, “Black Space Void” is a highly anticipated release. Well, I might be a bit mutton in my old age, but I can’t believe that many were waiting on tenterhooks for this second solo album, for despite its raw feel, there’s not a lot going on here to really excite. In fact, it’s a struggle to plough through the whole eight tracks. 

Italian Alex Nunziati has a pedigree, with his other outfits including Malamorte, Theatres des Vampires and Lord Vampyr, all bands I admit I know nothing about. Nunziati’s first solo album “Il Mangiatore di Peccati” (“The Eater of Sin”) was released last year, but again didn’t reach these ears, so I’m taking Black Space Void without any baggage. The huge challenge with this album is twofold. Firstly, as a solo project where the artist plays everything, it’s incredibly difficult to be overly critical, because this is immense musicianship in many ways. The other challenge is that it’s impossible not to draw comparisons and here it’s Sepultura, Cavalera-era that rears its head throughout. And unfortunately, if I want to listen to Sepultura, then it’s one of those albums that I reach for. 

The musicianship is rudimentary at times, and at other times it’s a real struggle. There isn’t one song on this album that really grabbed me by the throat and demanded I play it again. Instead, the music just washed over me without any real impact. The opening track ‘The Revenge of the Humans’ is an average song, whilst the laborious ‘Stardust’ does absolutely nothing to get either the thrash juices flowing, or the more curious synapses engaged. 

‘The Universe Doesn’t Need Us’ does add a bit of bite for the first minute, before descending into a crossover hybrid that really doesn’t spark the fire in any real way. It may take a while before you realise that “Black Space Void” has a total Sci-Fi lyrical content, with outer space themes alongside humanity’s mistreatment of Earth. All very honourable indeed, but let’s face it, it’s time for a cull anyway. 

The biggest problem I have with “Black Space Void” is that it’s just average from start to finish. Nothing stands out, despite the obvious talent. A classic example is ‘Possessed By Astral Eternity’. It’s frenetic, played very well, and does absolutely nothing. Even the final song ‘Vulnerable’ with its racing thrash vibe fails to ignite. Overall, a disappointing release. 

01. The Revenge of the Humans
02. The Day the World Died Again
03. Stardust
04. The Universe Doesn’t Need Us
05. Possessed By Astral Entity
06. Black Space Void
07. The Prophet
08. Vulnerable 

Alex Nunziati – Everything


Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Paul Hutchings and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Drawn And Quartered – Hail Infernal Darkness

Hail Infernal Darkness Cover

Drawn And Quartered – Hail Infernal Darkness
Krucyator Productions
Release Date: 03/04/2018
Running Time: 36:46
Review by Dawn “The Metal Priestess” King

One of the things you cannot do as a reviewer (or at least you shouldn’t do!) is stay inside your comfort zone when it comes to music. Reviewing the same genre time and time again will make you unappreciative of the music and your reviews will all start to sound the same. (well, that’s my opinion of it anyway!)

So, being the thrash/power/traditional heavy metal fan that I am, I decided to take a huge leap out of my comfort zone and review a death metal album. But, before I tell you what I think of the album, I will give you a little history of the band.

Drawn And Quartered were originally formed over two and a half DECADES ago, in 1993, under the name of Plague Bearer. Since changing their name, this Seattle based band have earned themselves huge admiration from critiques and listeners alike because of their unconventional and dark structured song-writing.

Now, six highly acclaimed full-length releases and numerous demos and EP’s, show why their existence in the underground is invulnerable and indestructible, and they have mastered the influences of bands such as Immolation, Incantation, Morbid Angel and Autopsy in their own way.

Even their own publicity notes say they “push the boundaries of traditional death metal by infusing technically complex riffs, while retaining the dreadful and raw environs with dexterity.”

“Hail Infernal Darkness” was the band’s third full length album, originally released on CD by Moribund Records, in 2006, having been mixed and mastered by Jesse O’Donnell at The Autopsy Rooms. Now, for the very first time this timeless masterpiece has been released on 12″ vinyl format by Krucyator Productions.

So, as I said at the start of this review, I am completely out of my zone with this album as I am not a fan of death metal in anyway BUT having given this a few listen throughs, there are some positive points to the whole genre.

While the guitars are fast, and the drums are pounding, the music is anything but a noise. The guitarists are obviously very talented musicians as there is some great guitarwork hidden under all the speed and growling vocals and riffs galore punch you in the stomach so hard they reverberate around your very being from some time after the track has finished. The drummer, who also possesses a LOT of talent, must lose a gallon of sweat during a live performance as the drumming is so fast it’s any wonder he keeps up.

Death metal vocals have always been a bug-bear of mine, always preferring clean vocals no matter what the speed or ferocity of the music, and this album is no different. Some may argue it’s the vocals that make death metal what it is, but I don’t think anything in the world could make me change my mind.

Musically, I loved this album. Its fast, its intricate and its raw. This album is brutal for brutality’s sake, yet it is also very atmospheric. Darkness, death and extreme violence are images conjured up while listening to this and, although that could just be my overactive writer’s imagination kicking into play, with title tracks such as “Blind, Torture, Kill”, “Throne Of Desolation” and “Nightghoul of the Graveyards” I think this is precisely the reaction they were looking for.

Despite my limited death metal knowledge but relying on my intense research as I reviewed this, I think this will appeal to a lot of death metal fans. But don’t take my word for it, go and grab yourself a copy and see for yourself!

01. Procession of Pain
02. Genocide Advocacy
03. Hail Infernal Darkness
04. Blood of a Million Martyrs
05. Throne of Desolation
06. Suffer a Traitor’s Fate
07. Escape to Cremation
08. Bind, Torture, Kill
09. Nightghoul of the Graveyards


Promo Pic1

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Dawn “The Metal Priestess” King and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.