My Affected Reality – Window In Time

My Affected Reality – Window In Time
Release Date: 22/11/2015
Running Time: 51:40
Review by Dawn King

Being a big heavy metal fan it’s not very often that something other than metal lands in my inbox but that’s exactly what happened when Ron Irwin of the band My Affected Reality asked me to review their album “Window in Time.”

Formed in 2008 in Oshawa, Ontario in Canada, all three members of My Affected Reality are formerly of the band Juice, which also featured the talents of Darren Smith, Jake E Lee’s singer, and JD Fortune of INXS, and they have since opened for the likes of Motley Crue, INXS and 3 Days Grace.

On the first play through it’s really quite difficult to categorise where this band should fall on the music spectrum. Is it rock? Is it metal or should it be classified under 80’s electro-funk? Subsequent listens dispel all previous thinking and the album should be taken at face-value. Its guitar rock with a few heavy metal riffs and the funk of electric pop all fused together in such a way that the sound is almost somewhat unique. In the words of the band themselves “My Affected Reality has a dark driving flavour with melodic hooks.”

Opening with “Damage”, one of my favourite tracks on the album, listeners could be fooled into thinking they were listening to a metal band with the heavy riffs associated with that genre but with the melodic “Believe” and the funky sounding “Beautiful” coming later on, it’s evident there is so much more to this band.

The members are all clearly talented musicians and play extremely together well. The singer has the sort of voice that would be suited to singing any genre of rock music and is complimented perfectly by the backing vocals. The electronic sounds intermingle perfectly with the drumming and guitar riffs, never overpowering the whole vibe of the album and the overall result is an eclectic sound that could transport you back to the 1980’s or keep you firmly in the present day.

I under-estimated this album the first time I listened through it, being influenced by my heavy metal roots, but I am glad I gave it another chance. Having had it in my car for five days straight I still have not tired of it which, in my opinion, is always a good thing.

If you are a metal head through and through then this might not be the album for you, but you are willing to explore other types of rock music, then give this album a go. You might just like it…….

1. Damage
2. Life Is for the Living
3. Sorry
4. Beautiful
5. My Affected Reality
6. Shiver
7. Just Like You
8. Hero
9. Fight or Flight
10. Shine
11. I Believe
12. Dig

Patt Shore – Vocals
Ron Irwin – Guitar
Trevor Forbes – Bass
Rob Boutcher – Drums



Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Dawn ‘The Metal Priestess’ King and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to do adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.