Visions of Atlantis – Old Routes, New Waters EP

Visions of Atlantis – Old Routes, New Waters EP
Napalm Records
Release Date: 29/04/2016
Running Time: 25:37
Review by Dawn King

Visions of Atlantis, founded in 2000, are a symphonic power metal band from Styria in Austria, and “Old Routes, New Waters” is their latest EP, released in 2016 by Napalm records.

Drawing influence from the success of fellow symphonic power metal band, Nightwish, and fascinated by the myth of Atlantis, Werner Fiedler, Thomas Caser, Christian Stani and Chris Kamper decided to work together to create a concept based on the secret of the lost city and along with vocalist Nicole Bogner, Visions of Atlantis was born.

The equal combination of male and female vocals distinguished them from Nightwish and they became more reminiscent of bands such as Lacuna Coil, producing six recordings up until 2013.

The band experienced many line up changes over the years, including the premature death of singer Bogner in 2005 at the age of just 27, and 2013 saw the return of many of the original members after the band started to drift back to their early sound.

“Old Routes, New Waters” is the re-recording of five of the bands previous songs, four of them stemming from Bogner’s tenure with the band, and it almost a trial run recording for the duo of new singers.

Clementine Delauney, formerly of Serenity and Siegfried Samer, who also sings for Dragony, work very well together. Delauney hits slightly higher notes than her predecessors but she harmonizes at mid range with Samer, and I must confess, I prefer her singing when she does so. They both have clear and commanding voices, complimenting each other beautifully.

The EP opens with the 7-minute epic, Love Bearing Storm, which has a very operatic-metal feel, Delauney’s voice at times a little shrill for me, but this does not take away from the sheer power it possesses.

The obligatory ballad, Winternight, a haunting and emotional song, features no male vocals at all, Delauney accompanied by just a piano, and Last Shut of Your Eyes, probably my favourite on the EP, is a beautiful mix of piano work, guitar melodies and heavy riffs.

This is classic European styled power metal, with lots of guitar solos and leads that work well alongside the inspired keyboards and excellent vocals.

This line up have taken some already great songs and injected new life into them, playing with vigour and enthusiasm. This EP gives fans a taste of what they are capable of, and also of what is to come.

I certainly will be buying the next album when it is released…

1. Lovebearing Storm
2. Lost
3. Winternight
4. Seven Seas
5. Last Shut Of Your Eyes

Clementine Delauney – vocals
Siegfried Samer – vocals
Werner Fiedler – guitars
Chris Kamper – keys
Mike Koren – bass
Tom Caser – drums



Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Dawn ‘The Metal Priestess’ King and Metal Gods TV. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to do adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Reproduced here with kind permission from Metal Gods TV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.