Legion of the Damned – The Poison Chalice

Legion of the Damned – The Poison Chalice
Napalm Records
Release Date: 09/06/23
Running Time: 47:50
Review by Rick Eaglestone

Dutch thrash masters Legion of the Damned return to unleash another angry beast: “The Poison Chalice”. The album absolutely erupts with elements of death and black metal in opener ‘Saints in Torment,’ which is followed up by the absolute juggernaut ‘Contamination’ which easily is my highlight track of the release.

Unforgiving in tempo is ‘Progressive Destructor’ which combines unrelenting drum patterns with dualling guitars unleashing solo after solo and lyrically the track is a thrash metal treasure trove.

One thing is abundantly clear as another aural attack happens with ‘Skulls Adorn the Traitor’s Gate’. After 35 plus years the founding members of Legion of the Damned have no intention of slowing down, and the decision to come together as a five piece for the first time ever is proving that strength in numbers only makes for another dominating element. 

Coming in at nearly seven minutes, ‘Behold the Beyond’ has the time to develop a great narrative that fits in the album’s aesthetic wonderfully and the follow up ‘Retaliation’ feels like it could have been on Immortal’s latest album.

‘Savage Intent’ and ‘Chimes of Flagellation’ have some good, blackened thrash elements with a metal heartbeat.

Penultimate track ‘Beheading of the Godhead’ throws in a sprinkle of atmosphere laden with hypnotic guitar elements before final and title track ‘The Poison Chalice’, which resurrects elements of Slayer’s ‘South of Heaven’ but still maintains their trademark sound.

A delicious pitch-black brew.

‘Beheading of the Godhead’ Official Video

01. Saints in Torment
02. Contamination
03. Progressive Destructor
04. Skulls Adorn the Traitor’s Gate
05. Behold the Beyond
06. Retaliation 
07. Savage Intent
08. Chimes of Flagellation
09. Beheading of the Godhead
10. The Poison Chalice

Maurice Swinkels – Vocals
Twan Van Geel – Guitars
Fabian Verweij – Guitars
Harold Gielen – Bass
Erik Fleuren – Drums


Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Rick Eaglestone and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.