Tokyo Motor Fist – Tokyo Motor Fist

Tokyo Motor Fist Cover

Tokyo Motor Fist – Tokyo Motor Fist
Frontiers Music srl
Release Date: 2017
Running Time:  39:32
Review by Vikkie “Queen Of Rock” Richmond

Here’s a little teaser for you – what do you get if you mix Danger Danger’s Ted Poley, Trixter’s Steve Brown and Rainbow’s Greg Smith and Chuck Burgi?  Well, what you get is a generous helping of rock and roll created the old fashioned way, with a side order of modernity and a pinch of irony.  Together, Tokyo Motor Fist have a fine rock pedigree and that much is evident when you listen to their debut, eponymously titled album.

“Tokyo Motor Fist” is a package of eleven neat songs which are quite simply, classic.  Proceedings kick off with the riff-tastic “Pickin’ Up The Pieces”, which is a feel good, upbeat sound with that big guitar that is so typical of many older tunes.  This is the sort of song, in fact, that you can’t help but nod along to.

Second track “Love Me insane” starts off with some good work on the “woah-oh-oh” front, so I couldn’t possibly say that I didn’t like it.  It jogs along at a brisk pace with some nice harmonies and that soaring, echoing guitar sound.  In fact, it would be pointless to describe each song on this album; they are what they are – huge, bouncy, feel-good songs that you can’t help but dance to.

I will, however, highlight some of what I consider to be my favourite tracks.  I’m particularly fond of “Love”, purely because of the naff, yet timely sentiment expressed.  “You’re My Revolution” features a divebomb in the first ten seconds and sprints along at a fairly good pace, albeit with some slightly cheesy lyrics, but I kind of liked it.  Clearly with this album, I’ve found my level, music-wise.

The ballad-like quality of “Don’t Let Me Go” appeals to my dramatic side and I like the vocals and the melancholic riff just over half way through.  “Put Me To Shame” has a vaguely dirty feel to it, but it does remind me ever so slightly of Danger Danger.  “Done To Me” is more of the same, but those were probably my favourite two tracks overall.

At just under forty minutes of music, this isn’t the longest album ever, but the harmonies are huge, the quality of the musicianship is first class and overall, this is a pretty good effort, as you would expect from a so-called ‘super group’.  At various points I was reminded somewhat of the style of bands such as Bon Jovi and Def Leppard, but that’s no bad thing. In the saturated genres of 2017, it’s sort of a pleasure to listen to something that makes me feel good and transports me back to happy times gone by.  We need more of this type of rock music in this day and age, although I know that some will say that with all of the new music pouring on to the web these days, there is no place for this style of music when there is such a vast catalogue of great artists and songs at our fingertips!

These guys don’t have their own Facebook page, just an official fan page. They don’t even have a website. There is just the music and that, frankly, speaks for itself.

01.  Pickin’ Up The Pieces
02.  Love Me insane
03.  Shameless
04.  Love
05.  Black And Blue
06.  You’re My Revolution
07.  Don’t Let Me Go
08.  Put Me To Shame
09.  Done To Me
10. Get You Off My Mind
11. Fallin’ Apart


Tokyo Motor Fist band pic

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Vikkie “Queen of Rock” Richmond and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to do adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.