Pink Cream 69 – Headstrong


Release Date:
Reviewed by [Reviewed-by]

Headstrong Cover

Pink Cream 69 – Headstrong
Release Date: 10/11/2017
Frontiers Music SRL
Running Time: 44:24
Review by Tsarina Wilson

Wow, Wow just Wow! Not the usual start to a review but there are not many other words I can use. Talk about being blown away by both the album plus the live album recorded in Ludwigsburg in 2013. This band are just totally amazing, from vocals to guitar riffs to brilliant drums. They are the whole package.

David Readman (vocals), Alfred Koffler (guitars), Uwe Rietenauer (guitars), Dennis Ward (bass) and Chris Schmidt (drums) will have you headbanging wherever you listen to this album. Headstrong marks the 30th anniversary of Pink Cream 69 and you get a treat of a live album to listen to as well.

Pink Cream 69, a German based band were founded in 1987 by Andi Deris, Alfred Koffler and Kosta Zafiriou. They were later joined by Dennis Ward on bass and when then singer Andi Deris left the band in 1994 auditions resulted in the addition of Englishman David Readman. In 2001 guitarist Alfred Koffler was diagnosed with Focal Dystonia which effects his left hand, so Uwe Rietenauer was recruited to help Alfred on their live shows before becoming a full-time member of the band. Chris Schmidt would later become the drummer when Zafiriou departed in 2012.

Headstrong is the 12th studio album from the band and I have no doubt there are many more to come. Everything from hard rock to slower ballads, from crazy drums to totally mad guitar riffs that keep you wanting more and more. Vagrant Of The Night starts with some beautiful guitar playing which will remind you of Stairway To Heaven. You could just imagine a whole stadium of people holding up lighters and singing along at the top of their voices, then to add some brilliant guitar. My favourite has to be Walls Come Down. It is just brilliant, bang into it and none stop all the way through. The vocals and harmonies are just brilliant, guitar riffs to play air guitar to and a solid drum beat all the way though just make this track for me. I have to love the lyrics in Bloodsucker though, “back stabbing dirty rotten double-crossing mastermind“, mmmm, kinda think someone upset one of them, but again the guitar riffs in this are just brilliant.

Dennis Ward, an American bassist, also associated with Unisonic and Sunstorm amongst a few, is also the producer on this album and is obviously a perfectionist in what he does. Taking the album and listening to it in his car for weeks to make sure the listener gets the sound and feel of what this band is about, is important to him. Calling it “their new baby” it shows a level of perfection this man credits to in his work.

David Readman who is from Burnley in Lancashire in England and has many projects before becoming part of Pink Cream 69 including Voodoo Circle and Tank

This is a rock band that you can listen to all day and never get bored of, clear lyrics, great music and brilliant harmonies. There is just nothing to dislike about this album and I actually changed my review number. I’ll be honest, it was originally a 9.5 but have changed it to 10/10 mainly because I can’t give it 11/10. These guys have a wealth of experience between them, not to mention a whole lot of talent and I, for one, are hoping they come to the UK. I would love for them to put together a dvd of their videos as they are just pure entertainment.

Studio Album
01. We Bow To None
02. Walls Come Down
03. Unite And Divide
04. No More Fear
05. Man Of Sorrow
06. Path Of Destiny
07. Vagrant Of The Night
08. Bloodsucker
09. Whistleblower
10. The Other Man

Bonus Live Album (Recorded In Ludwigsburg 2013)
01. Special
02. Talk To The Moon
03. Break The Silence
04. Do You Like It Like That
05. The Spirit
06. Livin My Life For You
07. Wasted Years
08. Welcome to Night
09. Shame



Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Tsarina Wilson and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this interview, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to do adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities



Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of [user_login] and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Leave a Reply