Worhol – The Awakening

Worhol - The Awakening

Worhol – The Awakening
Imminence Records / WormHoleDeath
Release Date: 10/03/2017
Running Time 37:56
Review by Tsarina Wilson

“The Awakening” is the debut album from Texan symphonic metal / rock band Worhol.  If the name sounds familiar that’s because guitarist / pianist / composer Larry Worhol and his daughter, vocalist / pianist / composer Ashley are related to pop art icon Andy Warhol and wanted the family name to be the band name. Larry and Ashley are both very passionate about the music they love, have music degrees and a love of classical music, which is why they decided to form this band along with bassist / visual artist Craig Malinowski and drummer Marty Naul to realise their vision. They have been together since 2013 and have gradually been writing new music and touring, releasing a music video which received much interest. After signing a record deal with Imminence Records and a publishing deal with WormHoleDeath they are now ready to unleash their first album … and what an album it is!

“The Awakening” is one of those albums that, once you’ve listened to it, you have to keep going back to it! I say that because I’ve found myself drowning in Ashley’s vocals!

“Time To Say Goodbye” is my favourite track on the album, full of haunting vocals and lyrics, the whole album is full of twists, turns and musical variation and just when you think you have heard a good track, boom! The next one is equally as punchy!

You can air guitar to the solos in your head and you get lost in another world listening to them. There are very few female singers in this genre who will give you goose bumps but Ashley definitely does this to me throughout the course of the album, it’s so powerful without being overpowering, yet in the background orchestral hints keep you listening throughout without it ever becoming boring.

I could easily see Worhol being sought after by film makers for soundtrack music, with the powerful vocals and intense music this album has, it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Guitars in track seven, “We, The Abused” are amazing … they build you up, drop you then pick you up again!

Ashley’s voice is so hypnotic yet so classical and with the background music and orchestral arrangements, you can’t help but listen to every second of the “The Awakening” in case you miss something. It truly keeps you listening and I can only imagine and can’t wait to see what Worhol would be like in concert, they would keep crowds riveted and I for one would be there to see them!

“The Awakening” is a fabulous debut album and it’s been a thrill to have this as my first ever review!

01. Voices From Above
02. Bowing Before You
03. Time To Say Goodbye
04. Already Forgotten
05. Rage And Revenge
06. In This Town
07. We, The Abused
08. Jurisdiction
09. Is This What’s Left Of Me



Disclaimer:  This review is the sole property of Tsarina Wilson and Ever Metal.  It is strictly forbidden to reproduce any part of this review, unless you have the explicit permission of both parties; failure to comply will be treated as plagiarism and reported to the relevant authorities.

Leave a Reply