Ice Age – Breaking The Ice

Ice Age - Breaking the ice

Ice Age – Breaking The Ice
GMR Music / Head First Entertainment
Release Date: 21/10/2017
Running Time: 45:05
Review by Tsarina Wilson

Metal fans of a certain age may well recognise the name Ice Age as they have been around, on and off, since 1985.  Surprisingly, this band from Gothenburg, Sweden never released an album, just a couple of very well received demos. They have a long and potted history but now the band are back I’m going to concentrate on the debut album which they are finally releasing!

With a line-up that includes original members Sabrina Kihlstrand (vocals) and Viktoria Larsson (bass) and two new members Linnea Landstedt (guitars) and Andre Homqvist (drums), “Breaking The Ice” contains five re-recorded classic tracks from their 1980’s demos and five brand new songs! It’s like being on a mad roller coaster, the songs are fast and heavy, vocals are amazing and the music is full of twists and turns but their sound is worthy of any metal band around today.

Sabrina’s vocals are gravelly and intense, perfect for this type of raw metal and it’s a shame it’s taken them so long to release an album, because we have been deprived of their amazing music for far too long!

The whole of “Breaking The Ice” is a non-stop, raw metal pleasure (think early Megadeth / Annihilator with female vocals), the guitar playing is fast and loud, and with some crazy drumming Ice Age are the complete package. I would imagine an Ice Age concert would leave you exhausted but invigorated. There are not many bands that can keep you on the edge of your seat while just listening to their songs but this band certainly do that! One of my favourite tracks on the album ‘Hell Or Nothing’ also has a personal meaning for Sabrina with regards to a previous Manager who she clashed with back in the 1980’s.

It may have taken Ice Age over thirty years to release an album but it’s so been well worth the wait. Let’s hope there is a lot more of this to come!

01. Fleet Street
02. Hell Or Nothing
03. Clever
04. General Alert
05. Instant Justice
06. Breaking The Ice
07. Total Collapse
08. Mental Disorder
09. No Need To Bleed
10. A Case Of Cerebral Death


Ice Age promo pic

Disclaimer:  This review is the sole property of Tsarina Wilson and Ever Metal.  It is strictly forbidden to reproduce any part of this review, unless you have the explicit agreement of both parties; failure to comply will be treated as plagiarism and reported to the relevant authorities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.