Vernon Of Persia – Ascend EP

Vernon Of Persia – Ascend EP
Release Date 10/01/2020
Running Time: 24:06
Review by Tammy Lomax

So, I did actually ask Mr. Editor to throw some random albums at me and one of the ones he selected was Vernon Of Persia. Well what can I say, Mr Editor knows me very well indeed!

Vernon Of Persia are a five-piece Progressive Metalcore band from San Antonio, TX. They began their journey in 2016 when two brothers, Tyler & Kalen Thomas came together with the other three members joining later that year and “Ascend” is their second release!

They are so far up my street they are hammering at my front door! I am more than welcoming, come in and join me for a cuppa. I feel all light and fluffy after listening to “Ascend”. These guys definitely give me my fix.

There is no mucking around with long introductions when ‘Weightless’ opens proceedings, just a massive wallop to the face, from the start, setting a standard of supreme talent. The only minor niggle for me is when second track ‘Ascend’ plays. There is a prolonged gap between ‘Weightless’ finishing and that starting and it’s similar at the end. A very long fade out? ‘Ascend’ is a belter of a track though so be assured it’s not detrimental toward the talent seeping through from Vernon Of Persia.

Throughout the entire six track EP there are some blinding choruses and bridge sections, it’s almost like there is a fight taking place between good and evil. I do appreciate clean singing if it’s done well and fits in the right place. Vernon Of Persia pin that particular trait down, completely.

For example, ‘Sea Of Trees’ (my favourite track on the EP), has a powerful and seemingly dominating riff but the vocals meet and over-take entirely, claiming complete territory. “Climb to the top of the mountain, reach the sky” go the lyrics! Yes, I am singing along, disregarding the fact I might sound like a cat getting strangled.

It really sounds like they are using some serious equipment and they sure know how to use it to their advantage! There is a tremendous amount of technique and skill cemented together here. It shines through, crystal clear. I visually see them playing in the sky to the entire world. Fan-bloody-tastic!

I had to listen to final track ‘Marc Of The Okubo’ a few times to understand its flow. At first, I felt they were trying to cram too much in, and it seemed a bit misplaced and off beat, But no, that’s not the case at all, it’s a case of opening up your ears! Keep up Tam!! There’s a belter of a bassline leading the whole track and powerful double kick drums do not go unnoticed. You can’t miss them, they are fast.

Vernon Of Persia are continually growing and have already played with some huge bands like As I Lay Dying, Within The Ruins, Suicide Silence etc…and the more they experience, the more they will grow. They have released a REALLY good EP here. All the tracks are far more advanced than on their previous EP “Relativity Of” (which I also listened to) It’s full of flavour, you have super-hot, spicy and sweet …it tastes marvellous with the right amount of mixture, texture and technique, thus it does not spoil. 😉

Thank you for letting me review these guys Mr Editor and good luck to Vernon Of Persia!

01 Weightless
02 Ascend
03 All Through My Veins
04 Inner Sleep
05 Sea Of Trees
06 Marc Of The Okubo

Tyler Thomas – Drums/Synth Producer/Back-up Vocals
Kalen Thomas – Guitar/Producer
Steven Giro – Bass/Producer
Anthony Narvarijo – Vocals/Lyrics
Jamie Vargas – Guitar/Producer


Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Tammy Lomax and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.